Church Can Be a Dangerous Place

After worship on Sunday I went to pick up my son from the church nursery.  When I picked him up they told me he was good, but he had got a bump on his head.  Of course I thought it was no big deal because the child bumps his head more often than I drink coffee in one day (and I drink a lot of coffee).  Later, when I was putting him in the car after we ate did I noticed the head wound.  Really it is not big deal.  These things happen, and I know how he is.  It wasn’t bothering him any because when I went to go pick him up he was chasing his little buddy around the tables.  I knew everything was fine in the end.  When I saw the spot on his head it occurred to me that church is very dangerous place.  For me personally is dangerous for the following reasons: I changed jobs, I read my Bible more, I am a better husband and parent, and my thinking about church and Christianity have totally been reshaped.  The church should be challenging you to be a better Christian.         We are called to become more like Christ surrounded by other disciples in order to grow closer to God.

And they devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and the fellowship, to the breaking of bread and the prayers.  And awe came upon every soul, and many wonders and signs were being done through the apostles.  And all who believed were together andhad all things in common.  And they were selling their possessions and belongings and distributing the proceeds to all, as any had need.  And day by day, attending the templetogether and breaking bread in their homes, they received their food with glad and generous hearts, praising God and having favor with all the people. And the Lord added to their number day by day those who were being saved. – Acts 2:42-47

As for that in the good soil, they are those who, hearing the word, hold it fast in an honest and good heart, and bear fruit with patience. – Luke 8:15

 

One thought on “Church Can Be a Dangerous Place

  1. Pingback: My Last Three Faith Photo Challenge Posts « The B.E.E.F. Blog

Leave a Reply

