Scary Odometer: Luke 12:4-7

Believe it or not I am not a well traveled man.  When my wife and I moved to Kentucky seven years ago, it was the furthest I had ever traveled in my life.  Sometimes when we drive around we notice things on the road that catches our eye.  One night while driving I saw that my odometer had 66.6.  I  actually know people who if they saw this would drive for miles in order for their not to display this number.  I wrote this post awhile ago, and I hope you enjoy reading.  I want you to remember that life is not determined by random external circumstances or some goofy set of numbers.

On an old episode of Married with Children (a show not recommended for young eyes or old), the main character of the show Al Bundy is known through out the neighborhood for having an old worthless Dodge.  In fact, a joke often told on the show is how no one wants to be seen inside or even around Al’s car.  One episode of the show Al notices his car is almost getting turning a million miles.  Most odometers only go up to 999,999, so when the car would turn a million, it would show 0.  Once Al realizes this he goes and tells everyone.  The Chrysler company hears about this and tells Al is they record the cars odometer going over 999,999 then they will give him a new Dodge Viper.  Al decides to stay inside the car all night to make sure no one sabotages his great moment, and he falls asleep in the car putting in gear.  The result is the car rolls just enough to turn the car back to 0.

I thought of this show as I was looking at the odometer of my car the other night.  If you

Just an F.Y.I. I did not take this picture

noticed it had 66.6 on it.  As most of us know 666 is considered the mark of the beast in the book of Revelations.  If you have this mark you are considered cursed.  Sadly, many people see this number, and they think they have bad luck.  Others feel the same way about the number 13, black cats, and broken mirrors.  As believers we cannot let these things bother us.  If you do we will be paralyzed with fear, and unable to serve the God who has called us  and protects us.  Often we let objects and people scare us into not following God.  The Bible tells us there is one whom we truly need to fear, and that is the one who can destroy both body and soul in hell.  We need to not worry about anything because our God watches over the sparrows, clothes the grass of the fields, and he shows us how much he cares for us by numbering the hairs on our head.  Do not let symbols and numbers define you life; let Chri

st be the one who defines your life.

“I tell you, my friends, do not fear those who kill the body, and after that have nothing more that they can do.  But I will warn you whom to fear: fear him who, after he has killed, has authority to cast into hell. Yes, I tell you, fear him!  Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? And not one of them is forgotten before God. Why, even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not; you are of more value than many sparrows.” – Luke 12:4-7 ESV

 

This is part of the daily writing challenge.

5 thoughts on “Scary Odometer: Luke 12:4-7

  1. Pingback: The Faith Photo Challenge Continues « The B.E.E.F. Blog

  2. Pingback: You Ever Been to Jail Before? | 33 Grams of Blog

  3. Pingback: Separation Anxiety | Cheri Speak

  4. Pingback: San Francisco | Vivir, que no es poco

  5. Pingback: Wandering Far from Home | Tommia's Tablet

Leave a Reply

