Giving This Up for Lent

mobile editionSo tell me what you think of the picture of the steak?  If you are hungry and love meat, you are probably getting hungry.  Before you is a 20 ounce boneless New York Strip steak.  I picked this steak up on my way home today from work.  The more important fact about this beautiful piece of meat is it is the last piece of meat I will eat until Easter Sunday.  This is my second year practicing lent, and this year I am giving up meat. There will be no more fish, pork, beef, or chicken for me for the next forty five days. Last year believe it or not I gave up reading the English Bible and stuck with reading my Greek New Testament for six weeks.  This will be a different challenge for me this year, and I think this will be differently level of difficulty.  If you know anything about me, you know that I love beef.  In fact, my other blog is called the B.E.E.F. blog.  My screen name for WordPress is joebeef.  My mother for Valentines Day sent two huge things of beef jerky (yes, my mom still send me stuff for Valentines Day and do not care of the whole world knows it).  If you think I am not a big beef eater then you are crazy.  I love all forms of meat.  So this will be a challenge for me, and that is the reason why I chose not to eat meat for lent.

So why would I celebrate lent?  I was raised Southern Baptist in Georgia where anything that had any sort of Catholic attachment to it was considered evil.  Over the last few years I have been educated on different aspects of Roman Catholicism through various conversations with people here in Louisville, Ky (a fairly strong Roman Catholic area) and my studies at Southern Seminary.  I have learned to appreciate the strong heritage of Roman Catholicism and grown to respect different parts of their faith.  While I do not agree with many aspects of their faith, I have found an area that is worthy of any follower of Christs attention.  Lent is the period between Ash Wednesday and Easter.  The purpose is to give up something in order to focus more on Christ.  So while I am craving a huge 20 ounce T-bone steak or a double bacon cheeseburger from Wendy’s; I will try to focus on the sacrifice of my Savior in order for me to be right with my Creator.

I will use this time of no meat to remind myself of my dependence on Christ and remember how He gave His life up for the world.

But he was pierced for our transgressions;
he was crushed for our iniquities;
upon him was the chastisement that brought us peace,
and with his wounds we are healed.  Isaiah 53:5 NLT

 

Leave a Reply

