A Week With No Meat

When I started doing this blog back in January I never thought I would be posting pictures of food that ate over the past week, but here we are. I gave up meat for lent this year. This is a new thing for me because I love meat. I am even taken it a step further than most, and I am not eating any fish either. That is even harder for me because this is the time of the year to eat some good fried fish. Every restaurant in town is competing with one another to not only have the best fried fish in town; everyone is trying to it as cheap as possible. That’s okay because it actually make ordering food a little more interesting that normal. This makes me happy not to be a real vegetarian because there are some restaurants where it is tough to come up with a meal without meat. Chick-fil-a is a good example. My family has a Monday tradition where we go to Chick-fil-a for dinner because the kids eat free, and it is a nice way to unwind a little bit after a stressful Monday. The reason why it is so difficult to avoid meat there is because just about every entree has chicken in it. I had to think outside the combo meal box in order to pull this one off.

Overall I have had fun making meals without meat. I have been able to focus more on making special vegetable dishes, and learning how to cook some things differently. I also had a chance to make some killer chicken stock for soup over the weekend. I used some chicken carcasses that I had saved in the freezer. I know there was still some meat on the bones, but I strained the meat out to save the flavor. I am not going all vegan on everyone, I am just avoiding meat. I then added a blend of vegetables from Kroger that had red potatoes, pearl onions, carrots, and other veggies. It turned out really good, and I was given permission by my wife to make it again. She did ask me to next time add chicken.

I have to ask myself what have I learned from all of this. I have learned that I can choose what I do. Instead blaming temptations and circumstances I choose to stick with my plan to not eat meat until Easter. As Christians we have to remember that we have to stand firm against temptation, and to ready at all times for it. We are prepared by focusing on reading the Bible and prayer. Paul wrote this about temptation:

No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it. I Corinthians 10:13 ESV

Here is a post I wrote on my other blog that discusses circumstances and temptation in a little more detail. http://joebeef.wordpress.com/2012/02/29/is-it-okay-for-me-to-have-a-bad-day/

Here are some other pics of some of the dishes I made over the past week.

This is part of the weekly photo challenge.

4 thoughts on “A Week With No Meat

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fresh (Wheat) | What's (in) the picture?

  2. Pingback: Photo Project: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 29, 'Fresh']. | 3rdculturechildren

  3. Pingback: Photo Project: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 29, 'Fresh']. | 3rdculturechildren

Leave a Reply

