So What Has Been Going on the Last Three Months? Jeremiah 29:11

This is what I have been staring at for the last few months.

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. – Jeremiah 29:11 NLT

I wrote this post last year when I announced to my followers why I had not been posting as often. My career path went from preacher to teacher in the course of about seven years. It was a journey that started after my wife and I moved to Louisville, KY. I always had this idea in my head that preferred to work with adults, but in reality God had been calling me to work with kids. I hope you enjoy hearing about the tail end of my journey.

For the last three months my blogging has not been as active as it once was. I have been posting to the faith photo challenge, but not to the beef blog as much. The reason why I took the short hiatus was because I applied to a bilateral teaching program in order be able to teach elementary education in Charlotte, NC.

What caused me to do this was a combination of things. For a months before I was frustrated with myself. I felt like God had something bigger for me than what I was currently doing. I knew God had a calling for my life, but I did not know where. So I began to seek out His will through prayer and Scripture reading. Early one morning I was unable to sleep, so I got up and started to read. At about 4:30 in the morning I got an email from Careerbuilder (of all places) telling me about the program in which I am now a part of. I prayed about it for a day, and then sent my application off to them.

I knew in order to be fully accepted into the program I would need to pass the PRAXIS II 5015 exam. I have no teaching background or educational experience. I knew this was going to be a challenge, and it would take weeks to prepare for this thing. I went ahead and signed up for the test. I spent several early mornings and late nights preparing for this test even before I knew I had an interview. I felt God’s leading through this entire process, and so I decided to press forward.

A few weeks later I was asked to interview for the position. By God’s grace it worked out that the interview happened on a weekend I was not scheduled to work at my current job. So I flew down to Charlotte, NC during a weekend in April. I thought I did terrible during this interview. I even got the impression from the person leading the interview that I did not stand a chance. She told me good luck with my current career because it sounds I am doing really well at it right now. This was obviously what I did not want to hear. To my surprise, two weeks later I was accepted into the program.

The next step I had to do was to pass the PRAXIS exam. It was by God’s grace that I had the strength and the time to prepare for this thing. My wife was extremely gracious by having to take more responsibility at home with taking care of our kids and other things as well. If it was not for her patience and kindness during this time, I would have not stood a chance passing this exam. Of course the test itself was extremely brutal. It took me the entire two hour period, and I felt like I needed more time to re-examine all the questions I answered.

Needless to say I passed, and now I am in the next phase of this journey: moving. Moving is by far of the worst things I have even done in my entire life, but it will be well worth it in the end.

This entire process has taught me that if God has a plan for my life, He will deliver. This entire deal was because of His grace. I believe that is why this whole worked out. I trusted in Him every step of the way, knowing that He was with me, and that I was following through with His will.

If you have any questions or thoughts, please feel free to reach out to me by commenting on this page, or if you want to reach out to me privately, click the contact me link above.

Thanks for reading.

This is part of the daily challenge.

7 thoughts on “So What Has Been Going on the Last Three Months? Jeremiah 29:11

  1. Pingback: Where’s the Beef? « The B.E.E.F. Blog

  2. Pingback: Flip Flop: I Love My Flip Flops | Khana's Web

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Flip Flop | flow of my soul

  4. Pingback: Visiting Foreign Lands and Fairy Lands | Black and White Heart

  5. Pingback: Yes, I Flipped The Flip Flop! | Black and White Heart

  6. Pingback: Musicals | life is great

  7. Pingback: idealizing + Love | just another outlet

Leave a Reply

