Fearless

I have come to the conclusion that my son has no fear.  I cannot count the times where I have walked in to a room where I see him on the top of the highest piece of furniture in our house, standing on the wondow seal, or the latest is standing in the top of his Little Tikes car trying to hang on to the close line.  I have also seen him leading his little sister on the path of no fear.  One time I walked into our livinng room, and I saw both of them on the top of our TV stand.  Why they decided to climb up there, I have no idea.  The only thing I could do is take a picture and pull them down as soon as possible.

Lately I have been thinking oif this idea of being fearless for Christ.  I been reading David Kinnaman’s You Lost Me, and I have been thinking about how the church has been more concerned about security and prosperity than reaching out with the Gospel in difficult and tough areas.  Instead of fightig to end world hunger, we line up by the thousands for a chicken sandwich.  Instead of looking to support pregnant girls with means to care for their unplanned child, we hurl insults and derogetory statements to themoutsid eof aboirtion clinics.  Instead of doing what is tough, we do what is easy.  One of the things thta holds us back is fear.  Fear tells us how we will not see the end of poverty in the world.  Fear tells us it takes money to care for scared young women.  Fear holds us back from doing the things God calls us to do.  Conquering fear means taking risks, not caring about the opinion of others, and putting God’s kingdom above all else.

The LORD is with me; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?  Psalm 118:16

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Duetoromony 31:6

Leave a Reply

