Sometimes We All Need a Shock

20130629-210948.jpg

Recently my wife and I decided to invest in a larger swimming pool for our ever growing kids. We liked this new pool because it was easy to setup, and it came with a pump. The pictures above shows the floater used to distribute the shock, and the gross water in our family pool. This pool also holds a lot more water than the last pool we had. The problem with this is instead of simply changing out the water like we did before, we know have to clean it. The last few days I have noticed the water in the pool get darker and darker. The last time I was in it, I felt this slimy film of the floor of the pool. After hours and hours of googling (not really), I found out that I needed to give the pool a shock treatment. A shock treatment is a blast of cleaning chemicals that clears up a dirty pool.

Sometimes as Christians we need a shock treatment. We slide a little bit (or a lot), and things happen in our life to show us that we need to depend on God more. God might choose different ways to get our attention. It could something from the Bible, a sermon, a conversation with a friend, or anything within His means to get your attention. There are things in our lives that are not good that remind us of our need for God, and even good circumstances can remind us of our need for God. Whatever her chooses to gain our attention, we must take advantage, and listen to what He wants to share with us.

Think about what The Lord use to get David’s attention about his sin with Bathsheba. He had the prophet Nathan tell him a story about a man who killed for his neighbors prized lamb. David when hearing this said the man who killed should be punished in kind for what he did. Then Nathan pointed out that David had done the same thing with Bathsheba. David’s response to this is found in Psalm 51.

Be gracious to me, God, according to Your faithful love; according to Your abundant compassion, blot out my rebellion. Wash away my guilt and cleanse me from my sin. For I am conscious of my rebellion, and my sin is always before me. Against You — You alone — I have sinned and done this evil in Your sight. So You are right when You pass sentence; You are blameless when You judge. Indeed, I was guilty when I was born; I was sinful when my mother conceived me. Surely You desire integrity in the inner self, and You teach me wisdom deep within. Purify me with hyssop, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow. Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones You have crushed rejoice. Turn Your face away from my sins and blot out all my guilt. God, create a clean heart for me and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not banish me from Your presence or take Your Holy Spirit from me. Restore the joy of Your salvation to me, and give me a willing spirit. Then I will teach the rebellious Your ways, and sinners will return to You. Save me from the guilt of bloodshed, God, the God of my salvation, and my tongue will sing of Your righteousness. Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare Your praise. You do not want a sacrifice, or I would give it; You are not pleased with a burnt offering. The sacrifice pleasing to God is a broken spirit. God, You will not despise a broken and humbled heart. In Your good pleasure, cause Zion to prosper; build the walls of Jerusalem. Then You will delight in righteous sacrifices, whole burnt offerings; then bulls will be offered on Your altar. (Psalms 51:1-19 HCSB)

Leave a Reply

