Style Verses Substance

DSCF1584

I remember back in the day I used my huge leather backed Bible with two ribbons for my daily Scripture reading.  Today, I am all about the digital.  I have three separate devices I use for reading the Bible and other books.  What I love about using my electronic books or e-books for short is I can pick where I left off no matter what device I have in my hand.  I used my Kindle when I am at home, my iPad at the gym or at Starbucks, and my phone when I am out and about.

Some people have told me they cannot pass up the feeling of having a book in their hands.  I understand that.  It is different when you are reading from a computer screen verses a real book.  However, my Kindle’s screen is designed to act very similar to paper.

As Christians we often confuse style and substance.  I find this especially true in worship styles.  Often people will say a church is “liberal” because of the style of music they use.  Some will even say a church lacks substance if they have a particular type of preaching, or a preacher who uses Power Point.  In my opinion, this is merely a style choice.  I have some great friends who prefer a more traditional worship service.  Myself on the other hand, I prefer a more contemporary service.  It’s just my style.

I remember having a conversation with friend a few months ago about what we preferred in terms of a worship service.  I mention how I knew of a church that wanted to have a Reggie style worship service.  One of my friends said they could never go to that type of service, and I understand.  Some people worship God with different styles of music and expression.  At the end of the day, we are all worshiping the same God.  Psalm 29:1-2 sums up Who our focus should be in worship:

Ascribe to Yahweh, you heavenly beings,
ascribe to the Lord glory and strength.
Ascribe to Yahweh the glory due His name;
worship Yahweh
in the splendor of His holiness.

Leave a Reply

