Yes, A Four Year Old Gets Prayer

20130703-090010.jpg

Personally one of the struggles of my spiritual walk has been maintaining a strong prayer life. Some of the strongest prayer warriors make it look so easy. I remember a buddy of mine in college was always in prayer. It seem embed like it took little to no effort for him to be a prayerful state of mind.

One the things I have been working on this summer is having a better attitude of prayer. I even found a book on Amazon to remind me of some of essentials of prayer. I have to say it has been really helpful. The unexpected way it has been helpful is teaching my son about prayer. When you ask him who we are supposed to pray for, he says “everybody.” He is serious when he says this. He also knows that we are supposed to pray everyday.

So what I decided to do was start to take his prayer life to the next level. During my reading, I found a great outline for prayer, the ACTS model. I know it’s been out for a while, but it works because it based on the Lord’s Prayer.

A – Adoration

C – Confession

T – Thanksgiving

S – Supplication

Adoration is simply when you praise God for who He is. A great way to get started by doing this praying through the Psalms. Confession is when you are honest with God about what you have done. Thanksgiving is when you thank God for all the thins He has given us. Supplication is when you pray for others and yourself. I have been modeling this way to prayer with my son for the last few days, and honestly each time I can feel the presence of the Holy Spirit with us in the room.

I Thessalonians 5:17 – Pray constantly.

3 thoughts on “Yes, A Four Year Old Gets Prayer

  1. Pingback: Blogging Goals for 2014! | The Photo Faith Challenge

Leave a Reply

