My Own Highway with Pride

DSCF1650

Nothing is cooler than seeing your name put up somewhere. For some people its when some one re-blogs something they wrote, or made an entire blog post about a post they had previously written. Others it is finally getting that youtube video to go viral, not matter how ridiculous it is in the end. I know a buddy of mine of interviewed on the news for something once, and he couldn’t stop talking about the experience for a week.

For me personally, it is that moment when I saw a highway sign with my name on it. I remember the first time I saw it. It was during my freshman year in college. I was visiting my dad in Charlotte, and I was coming from Toccoa, GA. I couldn’t believe it the first time I drove passed. The first time I saw it was before the days of camera phones (I am telling my age a little bit here), and I had left my camera at home so I couldn’t get a picture of it. Many people didn’t believe for he longest time until my dad brought me a picture of the sign. Truth be told, the Joe Griffin this sign is referring to is not me, in fact I have no idea who it is. The only thing this highway has to do with me is one of my favorite cars is made on this stretch of interstate.

The funny thing about sharing the name of a highway is how people will say something to you when they drive by it for the first time. A friend of mine from work sent a Facebook message about the sign. She was shocked to see my name on such a large highway sign. Some have asked me if the sign refers to me, and I am honest with them.

Pride is something I have always had to watch out for. For some reason I always like to think highly of myself, and it tends to lead to disillusions of grandeur. The worst kind of pride that I have to watch out for is thinking that “my greatness” was accomplished all on my own. Nothing can be farther from the truth. In fact, for all the good things I accomplish, almost all them involve the support of my wife. She is always there for me, and encourages me in all my endeavors. I also have my parents, who raised me to be the man I am today. Of course there are countless others including by not limited to teacher, professors, church leaders, pastors, friends, family, and so on and so forth. However, there is One who made sure that all of these awesome people would have the opportunity to intersect with my life. God is the one who orchestrated those people to impact my life in an awesome way. Not that He couldn’t do it alone, He chose to have these people be the instruments in my life to make me into the disciple I am today.

Pride comes before destruction, and an arrogant spirit before a fall. Better to be lowly of spirit with the humble than to divide plunder with the proud. (Proverbs 16:18, 19 HCSB)

Pride was the first sin of humanity. Adam and Eve bit into the fruit out of pride think that they were better than God. I fact, they thought they were so much better than Him, they decided that the needed to have the same knowledge of God. Pride is what brought Satan down from heaven ad began the war between heaven and hell. If pride brought down one of God’s most power angels had humanity itself; imagine what it can do to you own life.

The best way to deal with pride is to remember our place before the Father.

For you are saved by grace through faith, and this is not from yourselves; it is God’s gift — not from works, so that no one can boast. For we are His creation, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared ahead of time so that we should walk in them. (Ephesians 2:8-10 HCSB)

Our salvation is a gift from God. What we have, and who we are is because of Christ. It is tempting to think we are better than others because we are believers. The truth is, the difference between us and them is Him.

Leave a Reply

