Play It Safe

DSCF1676

After the Fourth of July, my family and I too a trip down to South Carolina to visit some family. On the way back, I decided I wanted to make up for not having some real fireworks on the 4th, so I bought some at a fireworks store on the way. Everyone in the south knows, if you want to get some good fireworks, then head to South Carolina. Most states you can get some big sparklers and smaller fireworks. In South Carolina, you can get the good stuff from Roman candles to bottle rockets. I even found this one case for sale that has the entire legal limit you can purchase at one time. The case was taller than me.

I debated what kind of pack I wanted to purchase, and I decided to stick with the safer stuff for two reasons. One, I did not want to be cause of burning our house down. Two, I feared the righteous wrath of my wife. She was already skeptical about the fireworks purchase, and I knew if I came home with enough explosives to take a city block, she would not be happy.

IMG_20130706_152514_623

In the end, I stuck with the “safe” stuff. The pack I purchased was actually called the “kids pack.” It was a collection of small smoke bombs and sparklers. I knew this choice would be my best option if I wanted to continue to purchase fireworks in the future.

While I was reflection on this, I was thinking about how we often play it safe in our walk with God. We try to stay away from things that can either make us look bad, or require too much out of our lives. We tend to avoid things that have a high investment. This can manifest itself in different ways. The first is by we try to take, but we do not give in our local church. Another way is by being active in things that require little investment. What’s easier, loving on a young woman who is going through an unexpected pregnancy, or yelling in front of an abortion clinic? Jesus said His burden is light, but it is still a burden. We have to be willing to take the risk. We tend to be scared of a little sacrifice, but remember we serve a Savior who sacrifices His life for us.

Make your own attitude that of Christ Jesus, who, existing in the form of God, did not consider equality with God as something to be used for His own advantage. Instead He emptied Himself by assuming the form of a slave, taking on the likeness of men. And when He had come as a man in His external form, He humbled Himself by becoming obedient to the point of death — even to death on a cross. For this reason God highly exalted Him and gave Him the name that is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee will bow — of those who are in heaven and on earth and under the earth — and every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father. (Philippians 2:5-11 HCSB)

What risk is God wanting you to take?  Is it talking to someone whom is different, or making a life change that puts your path more inline with the kingdom?

Leave a Reply

