Finding Rest

IMG_20130709_155854_083

My son is known as the Energizer Bunny around here. He just keeps going and going and going and going. Truth be told, normally he only stops about once a day, and that is when goes to sleep at night. I know what you are thinking, I give him sugar, koolaid, caffeine, and the stimulants truck drivers use to stay awake. At least that is what people tell me the first time they meet him. Well since I have been home this summer with the kids, he has had a little more hard play time than usual. So the other day, I decided to take him with me weed eater shopping (I know, what a great thing for a couple of guys to do together), and as soon as we got five minutes away from the house he was out like a light. He told me later that he had played to much that day and needed some rest.

How often our lives do we need rest, and when do we admit it? This is true on a physical and spiritual level. My real job is being a fourth grade elementary school teacher. I am with students about seven hours a day, and when I am not with them I am either grading papers, looking at students data, completing an assigned task from my principal or preparing lessons for next week. There are times where I just have to take a couple nights off from working before I burn out completely, and when it comes to optional works days, I generally opt out of working.

When it comes to our spiritual life, finding God’s rest is so much more than just getting through a situation. Look at what Jesus said about rest:

28 “Come to Me, all of you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 All of you, take up My yoke and learn from Me, because I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for yourselves. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” – Matthew 11:28-30 HCSB

Jesus calls us to come to Him for rest. What kind of rest is He offering? What kind of burden is He looking for us to take? God’s rest by definition is salvation. When He commanded the Israelites to honor the Sabbath by resting, He wanted them to remember that He was the One who they found rest in. God used the Sabbath as the means to remind the people of the salvation He had given Him. Our rest in the Lord is our rest from sin. We trade the burden of sin for burden of following Jesus. Paul is Romans described it perfectly when he wrote:

And, having been set free from sin, have become slaves of righteousness. Romans 6:18 ESV

Where do you find your rest? Do you take time to enjoy the rest that you have in Christ Jesus?

What burdens are holding you back, and how can you trade them for the burden of following Jesus?

Leave a Reply

