Blinds and Looking on the Inside

IMG_20130711_175847_850 - Copy

Ever since we moved into our house last year, I have been wanting to do some things to improve the look of the house. One thing that has been bothering me is the blinds. When I drive up when I come home, I see these broken and bent up blinds that just drives me insane. Since I was off for the summer, I now had the time to do some improvements to my blinds. I decided that I wanted the fancy ones made from wood as opposed to plastic or metal for two reasons. One, they wouldn’t be as easy for my children to break (my kids are masters at breaking things, it’s a special skill set). Two, I wanted some blinds that would look good on the outside. Well, after I purchased and installed these blinds I learned a new home decorating truth, “you do not buy blinds for the outside of the house, but for the inside.” I never knew this, and the whole time I was trying to get blinds that would match my shutters. Well, this is really unnecessary.

How often do we do we look on the outside instead of the inside? I cannot count the number of times, I personally have judged someone based on their outward appearance. It is something the Lord has been working with me personally for the last few months. I have been trying to avoid judging people based on their either dress, looks, and the way they act. The prophet had the same issue when it came to choosing the king of Israel. When he chose Saul, it was based on Saul’s looks. Saul was rich, tall, dark, and handsome (read I Samuel 9:1-2 if you think I am kidding). Everyone thought Saul looked like a king, so he was anointed at the first king of Israel. Later, Saul turned out to be disaster, and God told Samuel to look for another man to be king. God led Samuel to Jesse’s house, and Jesse brought out all of his sons but one. Samuel looked at all of them, and they all looked like a king should. Of course, when Samuel asked God was this person it, God said no. Eventually, God said this to Samuel inform him of what kind of king He was looking for:

But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.” – I Samuel 16:7

For me this works two ways. When we see others, what do we look for? God says He looks at the heart, and that is what we need to look at first before we judge someone. Often we judge others for a sin they might be struggling with, and instead of being focused on the sin, we need to look for how to help the sinner. Also, we need to remember to focus on our inside by reading Scripture daily and prayer.

When you meet someone, are you allowing the outside appearance to cloud your judgement of who they really are?

Are you so concerned about your outside appearence, do you forget to maintain yours inside appearance?

Leave a Reply

