Blogging Goals for 2014!

goals2014

When I think about what my goals should be for the next year, my first thoughts are about how I want more people to follow and like my blog.  We always want to to have the awesome stats to cling on to, but what is the point of having a 100 people follow you if they never to take the time to read what you have to say?  Its one thing to have a hundred followers, but it is an entirely different thing to have a hundred active followers to interact with and dialogue with about the various things you are writing about.  I think that is going to be my focus for the next year.  I want more followers, but I also want more people to interact with and dialogue with.

For me, having more active followers is the beginning.  I want to also give those followers something to engage with.  I look at my most popular posts, and it is “Can’t Fit the Frame.”  The focus of this post was to discuss how we try to put God inside our own theological box, and that hinders our view of Him.  I compared it to a piece of art I saw at the Indianapolis Children’s Museum with my children.  As a blogger I try to get people to think, but I also like to show different parts of my life journey.  I used to be the guy that put God in the box, but over time I found that not system or theological idea can contain who He is.  I think this post is popular for more than the fact that I took good pictures, but it showed a piece of my faith journey.  I think all Christian bloggers would benefit from more honesty about their faith as opposed to just showing what is wrong with the world, and how they are better people.  My next goal will be to show more of my faith journey over the course of the year.  My goal will not have this be some sort of journal site, but just the different areas God has challenged me and grown me over the course of my faith journey.  I also want to get more creative with this using photography and short stories (fiction and nonfiction).

My final goal needs to be post more often.  I benefit from from writing because it relaxes me.  It also allows me to meet and communicate with others throughout the world.  In order for me to meet that goal, I need to write and post more often.  The only thing that holds me back is my job and my family responsibilities.  I am a 4th grade teacher at a title one elementary school in Charlotte, NC.  For those of you who do not know, title one means the majority of the students at my school are considered lower income.  I have students who struggle with knowing where they are going to live, parents who are in prison, parents with life threatening diseases, and many who struggle reading at a fourth grade level.  It takes up a lot of my time.  I love what I do because of the challenge it gives me.  I also have a family that needs my love and support as well.  It does not make since to sacrifice my wife and two children on the alter of blogging.  I want to make more time for writing, so it will just have to be a personal goal for me this year.

Below are my main goals for 2014:

1) More active audience

2) Reflect more on my faith journey with more creativity

3) Make time

Most popular posts of 2013

1) A Photo Drive and a Protest

2) Cool Photo’s I Have Little Thoughts With

3) Random Pictures I Found on the Hard-drive

4) Yes, A Four Year Old Gets Prayer

 

This is part of the daily challenge.

 

 

17 thoughts on “Blogging Goals for 2014!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Progress | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Progress | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  3. Great resolutions! I enjoyed reading your post and it’s true… Active followers are so important! I always love it when someone takes the time to give some feedback on the posts I write! Good luck with your goals! 😉

  4. I find the “more active audience” a bit hard. Seems like most people stick to themselves or if they have been in the game for a long time, they aren’t that easy to “get to know”.

    Wishing you the best of luck on your goals for 2014 🙂

  5. Pingback: BECAUSE OF YOU | hastywords

  6. Pingback: The Lord Never Procrastinates | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Progress | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  8. Pingback: Progress | My Kaleidoscope

  9. Welcome to my blog speakzeasy.wordpress Do keep visiting it and I would like feedback just as you prefer interaction. I saw your goals for 2014. The spiritual journey caught my attention. Do kep posting interesting things. God bless you. Vivien

Leave a Reply

