Teaching: A Journey Into the Unknown

20140104-142111.jpg

If you would have told me two years ago that I would currently be on Winter Break preparing to go teach a class of 19 students on Monday, I would have laughed and disowned you. In March of 2012, I started the journey to become an elementary school teacher. I have no education in education. I had no classroom experience, or a clue about how a classroom should be ran. All I had was a call from God, and a desire to follow His will.
Everything about this journey has been taking a step into the unknown. My lateral entry training focused on the basics: lesson preparation and classroom management. It did not focus on dealing with administrators, parents, school workers, and all the other stuff that comes with being an educator. I knew this was going to be a take home job, but for the first year I felt like I was taking home more than I was doing there. I had never had a job that required me to bring work home. For eight years, I had worked in banking. The beauty of that career was when I clocked out, I was done working for the day. Now, I clock out at the end of the school year. I have to keep reminding myself that I will be caught up in June, as opposed to the next day.
There is always something to do, but their is a lot of satisfaction. I had never help anyone read before, and I am responsible for helping 4th graders become stronger readers. I did not have to do this challenge alone, I had a team of strong teachers to help me. Nothing is more incredible than to watch a student who has struggled to read all year, can understand and comprehend a complicated text.
The other surprise was the subject I found myself being passionate about. I thought that I would love teaching Social Studies more than anything, but I have found that I love teaching math way more. Seeing a student solve a problem that would make most adults struggle thrills me. I love giving them problems that other teachers struggle with, and they solve it.
Going into the unknown brings about a lot of surprises, but in the end it is worth doing.

If you would like to read a little more about my journey towards being an educator, read my post When You Are Told No.

This post is part of the daily challenge.

7 thoughts on “Teaching: A Journey Into the Unknown

  1. Pingback: Beyond the Pale | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  3. Pingback: World’s Most Famous Quote | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Life Is Messy | The Photo Faith Challenge

Leave a Reply

