SO SLOW

soslow

Let’s be honest with each other for a minute.  How often do you get stuck behind some one driving slow on the road, and you are in a hurry to get some where?  It seems to always happen to me on the way to work, and I am late.  It happened to me last Friday when I woke up two hours late.  Lucky for me, I usually go into work early to get ready for the day, but at the time I woke up, I had less than an hour to be at my classroom ready for students.  I moved as fast as I could to get ready, and ran out the door.  While driving to work, I caught ever light, and I even got behind this Toyota Camry going slower than a bicycle being powered by a toddler.  I started acting crazy.  I started saying things like, “get out of the way,” “your slowness is an embarrassment to the city,” and “your family is ashamed of the way you drive.”  Finally, I was able to get past this slow poke, I was able to make it to work one minute before the bell rang at work.

A quirk that I cannot stand is being slow, and a habit I have is not being patient enough to deal with the slowness of others.

Having a hard time getting to work like this always seems to give me a bad start to the day.  For starters, I woke up late, and second I was behind the slowest driver since the Model T car was on the road.  This incident reminded how I cannot allow things beyond my control to make me out of control.  I cannot count the number of time I have told students, “only worry about things you can control, like your grades and behavior.”  Sadly, I need to take my own advice at times.  I cannot control the slow pokes who get ahead of me, but I can make sure that my alarm is set, and the volume is up.

As Christians, we need to focus on the things that we can change, and the things we cannot we need to give them to God.  We have to remember that God is Lord over all things, and He will help us with those things we cannot change.

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28

P.S.: Yesterday, I wrote about how life tends to be messy, and never turns out how you would like it too.  It’s funny how my posts tend to show the current seasons, and ways that God is working in my life.  Check out the Life Is Messy post.

This is part of the daily challenge.

18 thoughts on “SO SLOW

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Me too! I can’t take it when a driver makes a right hand turn with no one coming. They have to stop to turn. What?? Just go! Or when they are turning into a shopping area they have to stop to turn just go!

    • I agree! You have to move in order to turn, so I don’t understand why you have to stop. I guess they want to make sure there is nothing there, but you should already be looking ahead before you turn.

      • I will never forget when I was learning how to drive my dad was yelling at me about this. I would look to make sure I missed the bumps (don’t ask me why), and he would say “how are you going to see the tractor-trailer stopped in the middle of the road 30 feet ahead of you, and you are too busy staring at some random bump 3 feet ahead of you?”

  3. Pingback: Procrastination and Coffee/Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  4. Pingback: CYNICAL ECCENTRICITY: THEY WILL THANK US SOMEDAY | SERENDIPITY

  5. Pingback: Children’s Oddities | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  7. Pingback: Cultivating Eccentricity | alienorajt

  8. Pingback: Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 12] Crosswalks | Never A Worry

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  11. Pingback: A Penny For Your Thoughts | The Jittery Goat

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Quirk Of Habit | The Wandering Poet

  13. Pingback: Quirky | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  14. Pingback: Weekly Prompt #1: Quirk of Habit | Off the Footy Pitch

  15. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Modern Ragnarok” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

