Everyone Has Them

IMG_20140130_084545_522

Last weekend, I decided that I wanted to make the family some breakfast.  I love making breakfast.  Nothing beats scrambled eggs, hash browns, and bacon.  It tastes even better when I cook it myself.  I start to get my ingredients out, and when I open up the egg carton, I five empty shells.  This might not bother most of you, but it drives me insane.  It turns, a couple days before my wife made the family breakfast, and those five eggs were part of it.  She has known since we first got married that it drives me insane.  She told me she was dealing with the kids at the time she was making breakfast, which makes since, but still drives me crazy.  At the same time, there are things that I do that drive my wife crazy.  It turns out if I don’t empty out the lent trap; I could cause a fire and burn the house down.  Even if there is one piece of lent left inside the dryer before I start the next load, I am risking destroying every thing we hold dear.

In every good marriage, we tolerate these things.  Sometimes we look over them, and other times we ask each other “really?”  Everyone has things that annoys them.  People who drive slow are annoyed by people who drive fast.  People who advocate for something important to them are annoyed by the apathy others have for it.  My favorite is people who are annoyed by the President just because he is a democrat.

Have you ever thought to wonder how much God tolerates us?  We are far from perfect, but despite that He still loves us.  He loves us so much that He sent His son to die for us.  That is not even where the story end.  He continues to demonstrate His love for us by allowing to go before Him with anything.  It would be like being able to call the President of the United States any day, any time, to tell him how awesome he is and complain about our problems.  Of course we cannot do that, but with God we can and should.  Even though our sin merits death, He gives us life.

But God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners. – Romans 5:8 NLT

 

Leave a Reply

