It Goes On

longjourney

Easter weekend I had some free time before church starts, I decided to take a walk around Uptown Charlotte.  Uptown is actually a really nice area to take pictures at, and the weather was perfect for that day.  I had also just got my new Galaxy S5 cell phone, and I wanted some reasons to try out the camera on it.  Charlotte is full of random green spaces in its newer and nicer parts of the city.  This spot is no exception.  I snapped a few shots, and then headed to church.

Lately I have been thinking a lot about my life, and how I got to the place where I am at today.  I find myself getting this question often because I think for the first time in my life I am actual set where I am.  I took the opportunity God had set before to be an elementary school teacher, and I have not looked back since.  As I look at this picture, it seems as if this half vine like tunnel goes on forever, but if you look hard, there is an ending.  Too often we feel like a tough stage in our life is never going to end.  Sometimes, other people and the devil will try to make us think we are in a never ending situation.  Truth is, if we look hard enough there is an end, and keep in mind God has us on this journey for a reason.

While we would never ask for difficult circumstances, sometimes it is the best way for us to see God for who He truly is.  In my own life, I remember my wife and were having a really difficult time in our marriage to the point of separation.  It was then we realized the thing that was missing in our lives was church.  We were going to church at the time, but it was pointless.  The pastor was preaching to an audience 3 times my age, and their few people there who were like us (I could list several more reasons, but for the sake of this article I will stop there.  Maybe I will write about why I changed churches).  That Sunday, we went to Elevation Church, and the sermon was just what we needed to hear.  It was almost in the crowd of thousands of people spread out over multiple locations, a sermon was being preached to just us.  Our marriage did not fix itself over night, but over the course of several months our marriage became stronger than ever.  It felt like we were never going to get along as a couple, and we were only sticking it out for the kids, but God stepped in and showed us where we needed to be.

There is light at the end of the tunnel, and one day the pain will end.  We are to ask God to show us how we turn the journey of pain into a journey of promise.  I would have never gone to a different church, unless my wife and I had not come to brink.  I never wanted to be there, but God turned it into a blessing.

Romans 5:3 – We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance.

 

One thought on “It Goes On

  1. Pingback: Why Leave It to the Pro’s | The Photo Faith Challenge

Leave a Reply

