Stop Leaking

. 20140601-085153-31913168.jpg

There are not many things that get to me. As an elementary school teacher, my patience is tested daily by children and adults. At the same time, there are always little things for different people who are annoyed by them. I wrote some time ago how putting empty egg shells back inside the egg carton. Another one for me is when people come to a complete stop in order to turn right. Those things make no sense to me.

If you have been reading my blog for any stretch of time now, you will notice that I love coffee. It is truly the best part of waking up and needed when I wake up in the mornings. If I do not drink my morning coffee, then there is something wrong. A week ago I skipped the morning coffee because I had a double ear infection. That was the first time I had skipped the morning cup in a almost a year.

One thing that bothers about coffee cups from a well know coffee shop chain is their cups always leak. Without fail, if I am not careful, coffee will leak on me at least once. In fact, the cup I am drinking here right now leaked on my shirt. For some reason their cups always leak. One would think for the high price that I pay for my cup of coffee, the least they could do is make sure the cup doesn’t leak.

How often do we put our faith in something that we know will fail? I have been drinking coffee here for over 10 years, and even though the cups leak on me I still keep coming back. The one thing I can put my faith in is that the cup will at least leak once on me. We often believe in various people and institutions that seem to always fail us. We put hope in them thinking that they might one day get it right, and yet they still don’t. How do we respond to this?

For me, I have to remember that their is only one thing that I can out my faith in He will not fail me, Jesus Christ. While it might seem like at times He is not there, truth is, he is always there. I look back at life at the times where it seemed like He was furthest away, and He was there the entire time. He closed doors I thought should be open, and in the end He led me to the place I needed to be.

Rom 8:28: And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

6 thoughts on “Stop Leaking

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Snapshot Stories | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Snapshot Stories – A Walk in the Past | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Zweibrücken, Germany, Family Outing And New Arrangement For Computer Desk | Prairie Views

  4. Pingback: No Biggee | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  5. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT Snapshot Stories ~~ Where Oh Where Am I? | To Breathe is to Write

  6. Pingback: Snapshots and Memories | 365 Days of Thank You

Leave a Reply

