End of the Year Reflections

20140520_104939The last day for students is today.  Today is the day they empty all their cubbies, desks, and cabinets.  It has been a quick and very eventful school year.  I have learned a lot, and I still have a lot to learn.

What I have learned:

  • The best way to grow as a reader is to practice reading.
  • Memorizing math facts is essential for success
  • The more students write about what they have learned, the more likely they are to remember what they learned.
  • Even though I have a demanding job, I still have the time to serve God.  While I believe I serve God with my job, I need to make sure I give time to His church.
  • I would not be successful if it were not for the strength God gave me each and every day.

Things I need to learn:

  • I need to motivate unmotivated students. (I do not want to just bribe them).
  • I need to motivate unmotivated parents.
  • I need to help parents see the importance of their child’s success in school as essential to life.
  • I want to be better able to understand the needs students have outside of school, and how to address them.

The areas I want to be more successful at are the ones I have little control over.  However, I want to be able to address those things in order to be more successful as an educator.  For many students, the only way they will have a chance in life is if those things are addressed.

The next step for me is summer school.  I go to training next week, and then I am right back with students again.

Leave a Reply

