Dead Yet, If Not Keep Going

20140704_171208

Over the Fourth of July weekend, the family and I packed up to my in-laws house in a town called Bamburg, South Carolina.  It is a old town, and the house they live in is considered historic.  About two blocks from where they live is a old cemetery.  The graves are so old that the words have been warn off of them.  I saw one restored marker that had 1837-1868 on it.  I took a few shots of the area, and sunlight hit it just right.

20140704_171121

As I walking around this place, I started thinking about how often as people we act we are dead.  We look at situations and circumstances believing there is not way out, and we should give up.  We act like we belong in a cemetery.  I acted like this last year.  I was going to a different church than I am now.  The church I was going to was a older church.  The service was more geared to more older people, and I felt like the good old days was the desire of the church.  They wanted society and community to be receptive to practices and ministries designed for the past.

What this did for my faith was crippling.  I went to church every week, and very rarely did I pick up anything from the worship service.  The music was an older style, and the sermons did not connect with me.  I would often spend my time during the worship service looking at social media, focusing on what I needed to do for work next week, and sometimes I would even be doing stuff for work on my iPad.  This is not a productive way to spend my Sundays.  In the end, I would walk out the worship service feeling drained and lifeless.  This hurt my faith, and negatively affected other areas of my life.   I felt dead.  After about a year, my wife and I made the decision to go to another church. (FYI:  This was not the only reason why we changed.  As a husband and a father, I had to consider all of us before we moved.  I was not an easy process, and it took us more than three months before we finally started to transition.)

20140704_171057

When we feel like we are dead, there is little we can do.  More than one aspect of our lives are affected if we feel like we are dead in one area of out lives.  As Christians, we need to remember we are alive in Christ.

My old self has been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. Galatians 2:20 NLT

Now to feel alive we have to make changes.  Here are some things that might have to change.

  • Job and Career
  • Friends and Relationships
  • Habits and Hobbies
  • Church

All of these things are difficult to change, but in the end they can be beneficial.  It could range from changing the amount of time you spend doing something to switching altogether.  I know there was time in my life where I had change jobs even though I had not been at the position for less than year.  I ended up changing because their was little opportunities there for me, and I felt like I was not wanted.

Do not allow something or someone to make you faith feel dead.  Take positive steps to make your faith feel alive.  One of the positive things that I do is before I pray, I read a Psalm first.  Then I pray through the Psalm having my mind focused on the greatness of God.

I challenge you do things that makes your faith feel alive, just like we are in Christ Jesus.

So you also should consider yourselves to be dead to the power of sin and alive to God through Christ Jesus. Romans 6:11 NLT

20140704_171144

Leave a Reply

