Keep Carrying It

20140629_133925

My son is a fan of helping.  When I volunteer at church on Sunday’s he helps me get everything set up for that day.  He also loves helping around the house and carrying things if needed.  One day we getting out of the car, and I was getting out my backpack.  He asked me if he could help me by carrying it.  I agreed, and I put it on his back  I asked him if it was too heavy, and he said no.  Keep in mind, my backpack has my laptop, iPad, some books, and a couple of notebooks.  It was not a light burden for him to carry.  He kept going all the way from the car to house.

How often do we have heavy loads in our lives, and we just drop them?  Sometimes things at work get tough, but we need to keep going.  I know how it feels to give up and not want to carry on.  Just this morning I did not want to go to work.  Right now I am teaching a six week summer school program designed to help rising fourth graders be ready for the next school year.  These students are all well below where they need to be, and they need a lot of help and support for the next year.   While the school days are shorter, the work is harder.

Last night while I was getting everything ready for the next day, I was dreaded going in this morning.  Before I went to bed, I asked God to give me the strength to go in, and be ready for the day.  When I was walking out the door, I still was not feeling it.  However, the moment the bell went off, I was ready.  Today was overall a good day.  I saw some students make some great progress, and I even had fun at recess playing some soccer.  If I would have stayed home, and would have missed out on all of these great moments.  If I would have given up, I would not have the opportunity to see my students learn.

I think too often, we think the burden is too heavy, and we drop the bag.  God has called us to keep carrying the bag for His glory.  Do I need His strength to keep going, yes.  Are there moments I want to give up and just push on, yes.  Will carrying the burden ever get easier, maybe, but we need God’s help to keep going.  Keep carrying the bag.  Press on and keep the faith.  Our God is faithful to get us to the final destination if we are willing to push on.  Look some of the recorded words of the Apostle Paul:

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, and I have remained faithful.  II Timothy 4:7

Paul knew he would not be the man he was without Jesus Christ.  He kept going, and he remained faithful.  We too desire to have the testimony of Paul, and we need to keep carrying the bag!

If you would like, comment below about those moments where you wanted to drop the bag.  Let me know how it turned out when you kept going.

Leave a Reply

