My First and More than Likely Last Selfie

20140710_080740

I have never understood the selfie.  Ever since cell phones added the front facing camera people have been taking pictures of themselves in the most random locations and moments.  The obsession people have with taking pictures of themselves is beyond me.  The only problem with the front facing camera is it is usually only about 2 megapixels compared the typically camera phone has 10 to 16.  The solution many have done is people now take pictures of themselves inside the bathroom.  Nothing makes a picture more complete than seeing a toilet in the background.  Another element of the mirror selfie is the glare of the flash.  It seems like more people do not know how to cut the flash off.  It has more class than a prom.  For some people it seems like whenever they see a mirror, that means they need to take a picture of themselves.

I don’t want selfie people to have America think they are selfish.  Many selfies are taken with other people.  The goal of the group selfie is for people to show off how much fun they are having, and who they are having fun with.

I have never been been a fan of the selfie.  It has always seemed unusual to me.  It could be me.  I have never been a fan of pictures of myself.  It always seems like I have this weird look on my face.  Then if you catch me at the right angle I look like the size of the Metlife blimp at the Superbowl.

Something that is scary about the selfie is how much self worth people place in others reactions to selfies.  If they don’t get the minimum number of Instagram likes, Facebook comments or Twitter retweets then they feel low about themselves.  The idea does not apply to only selfies.  Many bloggers feel the same way when people don’t like, comment, and even click on what you have written.  Too often our self worth is determined by how others feel about us.  I know there are times when I felt like I have written the worlds greatest blog post, and the reaction is mute.

As God’s creation we are already valuable in His eyes.  All of God’s creation is amazing, and that includes humanity.

For it was You who created my inward parts;  You knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I will praise You because I have been remarkably and wonderfully made.     Your works are wonderful, and I know this very well.  My bones were not hidden from You when I was made in secret, when I was formed in the depths of the earth.  Your eyes saw me when I was formless; all my days were written in Your book and planned before a single one of them began. Psalm 139:13-16

Don’t determine you worth by how others see you, look at how God sees you.

.

4 thoughts on “My First and More than Likely Last Selfie

  1. Pingback: Self Obsessed me! | shivansh chaudhary

  2. Pingback: Can’t Stand Me, Or Can I? | New Visions

  3. Pingback: Hear Me Roar | TyroCharm

  4. Pingback: Can’t Stand Me: The Video | 365 Days of Thank You

Leave a Reply

