Clutter

20140709_165113

I throw around the term “hot mess” a lot.  I have never been too sure about what the true meaning of the expressions, but my definition is a mess that is bad that it causes you to sweat.  If there was a picture next to this term in the dictionary, my attic would the illustration used to show the definition of the phrase.

My attic is the definition of hot mess.  When we lived in Kentucky, we had a small two bedroom apartment with no storage.  When we found out we were moving into a house with an attic, I thought to myself that my space problem would be solved.  Little did I know that I would still have a plethora of stuff to store.  When you have a house, you have a whole lot more you need to keep.  Also, during the summer I am not allowed to keep that much of my stuff at my classroom.  So I have to store those things inside my attic.

If you look at the bottom of the picture above you will see mostly stuff I keep during the regular school year at my classroom: my vacuum, my classroom rugs, and my foam base.  Needless to say I have a lot of clutter in my attic.  With all of this clutter it is hard to move around up there, and find the stuff that I need.

Clutter can be taken care of in two ways: organization and elimination.  We can store things in a way that we can find it easier, or we can get rid of things that we never use.

Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.  Philippians 3:12-14 ESV

Spiritual clutter can hinder your life as a Christian.  Often clutter prevents us from furthering our walk with God, like clutter in my attic prevents me from walking around the entire space of it.  We handle spiritual clutter the same way we handle attic clutter:organization and elimination.

The older I get the busier I get.  I find myself with more responsibilities now than I had even a year ago today.  It’s a good thing.  This time last year I had more time to blog, but I wasn’t working last summer and had little involvement at church.  I find myself having to make time to blog, but I find myself being more productive.   Today we are involved in a small group, I volunteer at church ever other Sunday, and am involved in other areas.  I thought I was too busy to do those things because I had a lit things to do at work as a teacher.  Last winter I decide I just needed to be more involved at church, and time just opened up for me.  Then it seemed like I still had the time to get done what I needed to, and it felt like I had more time.  Truth is the week did not get longer, and hours did not multiply.  The change was I organized my time better.  Sometimes we have to make the choice to use our time better.

So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom. Psalm 90:12 ESV

The next way we organize our lives is elimination.  There are things in our lives that have to go because they are dominating too much time.  I used to love playing video games (still do).  I would play about 10 hours a week.  When we had our second child I found that I had less time to get things done, but still was making video games a priority.  In the end, I had to stop playing.  I still play small games on my mobile devices from time to time, but no way near as long as I used too.   We have to take things out of our lives that our hindering our life.  It could be a relationship, hobby, work, and anything that is hindering your walk with God.

We have to organize our lives in order to focus more on God, and eliminate the things that hold us back from Him.

Leave a Reply

