Something About Silience

20140714_105959

A struggle for many students who are week readers is being able to sit and read for an extended period of time silently.  Many have a hard time getting into a text, and focus on what is written.  This is important skill for any child for later in life.  Books get longer and more complex, and in order for students to understand more advance topics, they need to be able to focus and comprehend what is written.  I like to give students a long period of time to read and build reading stamina.  The longer they are able to focus, the more they are able comprehend harder texts.

In order to give students the opportunity to grow their reading is to create an environment of absolute silence.  What I normally do is have all my students have there books on their desk, and have them start reading when I tell them too.  We start off with a small part of time, and work on building up to longer periods of time.

The key for this time to be successful is silence.  I try to pick a time where their are fewer interruptions than any other part of the day.  This leaves the beginning of the day out, lunch time, and the end of the day.  While interruptions still happen, I have to pick a time where there will be as few as possible.

During my students reading time today, I thought about how as Christians we need to have a time of silence in our life.  Life today is filled with noise.  It used to be easier to find those moments of peace before children, now it has become even more complicated.  However, I have been able to find that time.  My time of silence with God is early in the morning before anyone in the house gets up.  By doing it at this time I am able to focus on Him without distractions.

Many of the Saints found time to be alone.  Jesus often would find time to be alone.  Often when Jesus completed some of His greatest miracles He would have time God either before or after.  Silence helps us focus, and tune ourselves into hearing the voice of God.

Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth! Psalm 46:10

One thought on “Something About Silience

Leave a Reply

