The Vent

20140727_103715

And that the Messiah may dwell in your hearts through faith. I pray that you, being rooted and firmly established in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the length and width, height and depth of God’s love,     and to know the Messiah’s love that surpasses knowledge, so you may be filled with all the fullness of God. – Ephesians 3:17-19

I feel like many of my blog post focus on my adventures or thoughts about the coffee shop.  One would think that I spend most of my days and nights there.  To be honest, I go about once or twice a month to chill and decompress.  During the school year I spend some time lesson planning, but I also find time to read and think.

Coffee shop dilemmas range from leaking cups to not being able to find a seat.  One dilemma I had the other day was the outlet I had selected for my laptop was not providing any power.  My first thought was, what if my computer wasn’t charging any more.  You have to love how I go straight to worst case scenario.  I looked around, and saw some open seats by other power outlets.  I moved all of my coffee shop stuff (cup, breakfast, computer bag, iPad, phone, and my book) over next to the new outlet.

I settled in at my new spot, and I felt cold.  I looked around and noticed that I had parked myself next to an A/C vent.  I starting to chug my coffee in order to prevent hypothermia.  I guess they had to run the A/C constantly due to all the hot coffee in the room.  I thought about moving, but in this coffee shop, good seating is hard to come by.

As I was sitting next to “the vent,” and my feet were starting to freeze; I started to think about how God receives the most glory from us by putting us in uncomfortable positions.  Too often we consider comfort a blessing, but God often works in us the most went we are uncomfortable.

I remember hearing the term “comfort zones” a lot in high school and college.  Often we were told to step out of our comfort zones in order to do something great for God.  As Christians we need to define what our comfort zones are.  For me they cover three areas: social, philosophical, and theological.

  • Social is where we most often think about stepping out of our comfort zone. As Christians we are called to be bold with our faith, and honest with those around us.  This can be hard because either of a fear of rejection or fear of loss.  We fear being rejected by new people because we don’t know how they are going to react.  We also fear alienating those whom we have become friends with.
  • Philosophical: This is a big one for our culture today, especially in the area of politics. Often people equate Christianity with a particular political party.  I know people who swear that if you are not a Republican then you are against the work of the cross.  Others would argue that if you are not a Democrat then you do not love the poor.  While I personally believe both parties have their rights and wrongs, I do not believe our faith should determine what party we stand for.  I used believe that either you were part one particular party or you supported the gates of hell.  In the end, the more I search Scripture I realized that God is much bigger than one person’s view on something.
  • Theological: Not five years ago I was so stuck up in my beliefs, that if you did not agree with me, I questioned either your faith in Christ or knowledge of Scripture. The older I get, the more I understand why there are different view on various subjects in Scripture.  There are areas where we do not need to compromise (for example: the nature of the Trinity, salvation through Christ alone), but there are areas of theology that hold less importance.

While I was thinking about this, I realized that God is bigger than my comfort zones.  Too often we try to place God in box.  That box can be us thinking there is something we are not capable of doing, but with God we can.  The box could be a way you view certain people, or a theological position that limits you view of God.  We have to break the box down that is holding us back in our faith.  We have to accept some discomfort in order to receive God’s comfort, and we do that by putting ourselves in the right place for Him.

Leave a Reply

