Wonder in the Weeds



I am sure of this, that He who started a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. – Philippians 1:6

We have often heard the phrase you cannot see the forest because of the trees.  The idea is that often we get so fixated on one tough time forgetting about the entire journey.  All worthwhile journeys require time and sometimes pain.  Often times the pain can overshadow the goal.  I remember while I was preparing to become a teacher I went to this interview, and their must have been around 200 people there for about 30 spots.  I knew for sure that I was not going to get the job, but I still kept preparing for my Praxis test, and I found out later that I was expected into the program. There will always be roadblocks along the way, but the question is how do we handle them?  When we take the time to look at the beauty of the journey we realize that we can move forward.

While the journey has difficulties along the way, often times we forget to appreciate the small moments during the journey.  As people we always want to look ahead and keep moving.  We like to forget that the journey does have moments of beauty.

This idea reminds me of my wildflower garden at my house.  I planted the flowers this spring because I have had a hard time growing flowers on this side of my house.  It’s gets really hot during the summer, and the brick reflects the heat on to the plants.  We tried planting tomatoes there one year, and all we got was one cherry size tomate from this plant that should have produced ones as big as your fist.  So I was at Home Depot, and I found these on sale.  I decided to give them a shot, and see what happens.  The results turned out to be amazing.  At first glance it looks like a flower bed full of weeds.  In reality it filled with a lot of beauty.  Whenever I look at the first picture of the wildflowers I think to myself, what a hot mess.  I looks likes some madness on the side of the road, but when I look in closer I realize that there is a ton of beauty there.

This first one looks a little better, but as I look around I see even more beauty.

The key to journey is to always look at the big picture, but also we need to enjoy the journey.  It’s in these moments we see God working the most in our lives.  It’s through the closed doors He shows us another one wide open.  The Apostle Paul wrote, “I am sure of this, that He who started a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 1:6

God starts us on the journey, and He will keep us on it till the end.  We need to reflect and see the beauty of the moments were He moves us forward.  Too often we see the results, and we forget how we got there.  It’s how we get there is what makes us who we are.

Check out the version on blogger at http://lifefaithphoto.blogspot.com/2016/07/wonder-in-weeds.html

2 thoughts on “Wonder in the Weeds

    • So true. We often think we that the finished project is the only thing we should be thankful for, but we should also be thankful for what made us into who we are.

Leave a Reply

